PDA

View Full Version : Nolan N101 VPS

Lou Girardin
27th June 2005, 09:05
I've been using the N100E for 3 years now, but there have been some things that annoyed me about it. So when the N101 was released it seemed to have fixes for those problems. I'd put off replacing mine till the Eurobike rep came in with the VPS version. VPS stands for Vision Protection System, a fancy way of saying sunvisor. There's a second, tinted, half visor that pivots independantly of the main one. This appealed to me because I often travel to work into the sunrise and go home in the dark, so this sounded like the answer to the problem.
Plus there have been improvements to the aerodynamics, interior liner and flip mechanism so that it has a higher quality feel.
Riding home on Friday night was great, it was pissing down, but because the visor seal didn't leak I could use the pinlock visor and had a totally fog free ride with the visor closed the whole way.
On sunday we went up to Matakohe, so it was the first test at highway speed.
The N101 is a tad quieter and slightly more stable in clear air, but a lot more stable when in turbulent air behind trucks. The VPS visor took a bit of getting used to, having two levels of brightness in your field of vision, but it's not a big problem. I'd still use a full tinted visor on sunny days though.
The VPS visor does not affect the stability of the helmet when it's raised even at highish speeds.
Anyone considering a flip-front should definitely check these out, retail is $575.00 inc.

Jantar
29th June 2005, 00:52
Sounds like a very good helmet. I have had Nolans for a number of years now and find them comfortable and much quieter than most other brands. My current 7 year old N27 is overdue for replacement, but I can't find any shops in my area that stock them.

AMPS
29th June 2005, 08:37