PDA

View Full Version : Time for something new?

Tosser
13th July 2011, 11:03
I'm relatively new to bikes..

I bought a 99 GSXF750 in march for 4.3 this year(16400km).

I love it(my first bike really) but I'm starting to feel a little bored with it.

So I've started looking around for something a little faster.

I was thinking something like a R1? What would you guys suggest?

btw did I get it for a good price?

Cheers

Edbear
13th July 2011, 11:13
Price sounds okay to me, esp at that mileage. Do you have your full licence? I'd be cautious about upgrading to an R1 unless you are very experienced. I recall a time on my GSX600F when I was tapped out in third passing traffic and thinking how fast I was going when an R1 shot by me going about 50km/h faster! I didn't even see him coming!

He had almost twice the HP and weighed about 20kg less than my bike so it was pretty one-sided. Even compared to your 750, it's chalk and cheese to a modern litre bike, so whatever you do, be very careful!

wanpo
13th July 2011, 11:59
Even modern Supersport 600s are ridiculously powerful.

Sit on/test ride as many bikes you like the looks on as possible. Choose the one that puts the biggest smile on your face and feels the most comfortable.

The Pastor
13th July 2011, 12:06
Who gives a toss?

shrub
13th July 2011, 13:49
The first thing to remember is that a bike is very different to a car and requires a huge amount more skill to ride safely than a car, the second thing to remember is that a bike is unbelievably unforgiving of rider error.