PDA

View Full Version : New biker on the shore, and seeking advice (Tim Adkins)

G4L4XY
18th July 2011, 18:49
Hi all..my name is Tim and i've been riding for just over a year now. I have a 2006 Hyosung GT250R, has been great to learn on and been reliable for a while but recently i've been having a rather strange problem and being a student I can't afford a mechanic to charge me to look for problems.
Basically what happens is during a ride to say hamilton I will be going say 100kmp/h and all of a sudden the revs will drop suddenly and then pick up again. Very sudden and kinda scary, I did have the bike in the shop and the mechanic though it was the side stand switch but it still does it. It's happend when the bike is a bit cold like just leaving home and also when it's well warmed up. I noticed it started happening after I rode it in some bad rain so im thinking it has something to do with that.
I also have another problem (lol) I hear a wierd sound when riding it's like a "raspy" kinda sound, like if I speed up and then reset the throttle to 0% I dunno how to explain it but it sounds like it could be the clutch.. When I speed up and clutch in to change gears it sounds aweful like just raspy is the only word I can tihnk of lol
Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Mom
18th July 2011, 18:53
Hi all..my name is Tim and i've been riding for just over a year now. I have a 2006 Hyosung GT250R, has been great to learn on and been reliable for a while but recently i've been having a rather strange problem and being a student I can't afford a mechanic to charge me to look for problems.