PDA

View Full Version : Learner legal traffic beater?

bingslayer
8th December 2011, 19:12
hey guys, newbie here:sweatdrop

Just wondering if I could get some opinions on a some learner legal traffic blasters. I cant help but get jealous when Im sitting in 5:00pm traffic everyday and a biker filters past while Im going nowhere fast.

while I dont have a licence yet, I do have a decent amount of experience having raced 80cc and 125cc MX and riding my '81 XT500 on the road in my home country on and off for years, so yeah Im not really looking for a typical "good to learn on" bike.

I dont really want to spend much more than 2.5k as I will proberly be upgrading when my licence allows to a 525exc or similar.

I would like a motard type of bike as I naturaly feel much more at home on a MX bike than a sports. I have been eyeing out the KLX250 D-tracker, it definately looks the part but how does it perform? Would it beat most cars to the other side of the intersection?

Im also tempted to exploit the 250cc limit and get a rmx/kdx/ktm exc 250 2-smoker and put some road wheels on:yes: , bearing in mind that this will be my daily commuter, and will not be ridden over 80km let alone on motorways or at night and only about 30mins at a time.Its mostly filterability and off the mark acceleration that concerns me. How would fuel economy be on the road?

anyone got some ideas?

Cheers

unstuck
8th December 2011, 19:41
Gidday and welcome, my first bit of advice would be to try and sort out that need to beat everyone else away from the lights/ intersections. As for what bike, try a few out and see what feels right.:yes:

Phreaky Phil
8th December 2011, 19:52
Hey man this is the adventure section. That means going where the traffic aint. Unless you call sheep or tractors traffic.

bingslayer
8th December 2011, 19:58
Hi , thanks for the welcome.