PDA

View Full Version : MNZ Problems: Whakatane Summercross

merv
20th December 2003, 14:29
This message was posted by Bill Walch on Silver Bullet and descibes the issue surrounding BOP MCC.

They say this year’s event is being run for the first time in association with the New Zealand Dirt Bike Federation.

Now I remember the days I started riding with Hawkes Bay MCC and back then I doubt a licence was more than about $5 or $10 a year and we used to pay about 50cents entry fee for trials or scrambles - later rising to a buck or two.

So is Tony Rees and friend solving the problem of how to get entries up (as discussed on that other thread) at least in the dirt racing arena anyway.

Posted: Fri 19-December-2003 11:21:28 PM by Bill W
Is motorcycle sport in NZ now at a crossroad?
Most readers will be aware that an unsavoury and unfortunate rift has developed between the Bay of Plenty Motorcycle Club and Motorcycling NZ.
Due to not having sufficient facts of the matter the writer is not prepared to comment on the cause or causes. Suffice to say that cool heads needed to prevail so that this unsavoury matter could be resolved to the satisfaction of all parties.
But my recent exchanges [Wot] Publicity ? - 3: demonstrate that the current MNZ CEO, Trevor Gill, is more inclined `to shoot from the hip` than he is `to pour oil on troubled waters`. The petulant response to the questions and criticisms that I had the temerity to raise was not becoming of the CEO of a National sporting body and that is a view that has been privately extended by a large number of `names` from within the sport.

One hopes that the sage personnel within MNZ can now prevail - as MNZ needs a unified body of NZ motorcycle riders - and those riders need to have confidence in the body that is to administer their chosen sport. Namely MNZ, as I don't think fragmentation of administration is the answer.