PDA

View Full Version : Hello! I'm Rajol, a new rider, New Zealand/Wellington

Rajol
24th January 2012, 09:27
Hello, I'm Rajol (just call me Joel/Jol)

Born in Wellington to a Georgian father and Kiwi mother. I live in Wellington at the moment but I am a medical student at Otago uni,

I grew up on a dairy farm out in the Wairarapa just out of Martinborough, my grandfather was an engineer and raced cars in his younger years but in his later years became a motorbike mechanic and was in the Ulysses Motorbike club for a good 5-10 years, he had his own workshop at home in Martinborough and had a few motorbikes that I remember (I can not remember what they were as I was quite young at the time, but remember a lot of chrome and that they were very loud)

I have been having heating problems with my hilux surf and have got tired of having to pay for getting them fixed all the time, along with running costs and maintenance I've de registered the vehicle.

Attracted to the low running costs and not having to bother with overheating I set out looking for a motorbike

Found one, previously 1 owner, 2009 Keeway supershadow, 250cc, on 6000ks, very good condition as far as I could tell, 1 year WOF and 1 month rego, after market engine and some kind of modification/tuning so the motorbike could be used on the Wellington motorway and hit 120-130 easy.

I turned up to inspect/see the motorbike when I was buying it, knowing nothing about motorbikes, however as soon as I saw it, I knew i wanted it.
Before I turned up I looked on youtube to see how to ride a motorbike, having my full car license and knowing how to drive a manual, I just watched videos on how to change gears and such.
Have never ridden motorbikes previously but turned up knowing where the brakes were, clutch and how to change gears, I gave it a test drive around heretaunga in Upperhutt.

My first corner was a bit strange, I didn't know how to turn the thing