PDA

View Full Version : L plates and speeding

Str8 Jacket
26th July 2005, 10:36
I tried searching to see if this questions been asked already, but couldn't find anything.
As you all know learner riders are limited at a speed of 70k's, but I was wondering if you would still be fined if say you were riding @ 75 (on an open road with 100 being the limit). In other words what kind of "leniancy" (sp?) do the cops give to this. The reason I ask is everyone keeps telling me that I can legally ride around at 55k's (around town) and that I would not be fined . So if they are correct by telling me this then surely you won't be fined going 5k's over the limit in any situation, or am I just plain wrong?!
BTW, I am completely new to the roads, as have never gotten round to getting my drivers licence - so sorry if this is a dumb question . . .

MSTRS
26th July 2005, 10:38
Probably not a problem. Until you meet one of 'them' who's having a bad day.

Beemer
26th July 2005, 10:42
I know someone who has been done for doing six kms over the limit so I'd be careful! You probably WON'T get a ticket, but if you meet a cop who is having a bad day, they could ticket you for breaching the terms of your licence if nothing else.

Str8 Jacket
26th July 2005, 10:45
Well im guessing that cops who are having a bad day don't give out any signs or anything to warn you . . . . Its funny that you both bought that up! Never thought of it like that, ive just always tried to keep just on or under the speed limit, you know, "just in case".

Beemer
26th July 2005, 11:29
Well im guessing that cops who are having a bad day don't give out any signs or anything to warn you . . . . Its funny that you both bought that up! Never thought of it like that, ive just always tried to keep just on or under the speed limit, you know, "just in case".

You're right there - cops having a bad day are like women having a bad day - they don't wear flashing neon signs saying "go ahead, make my day!"