PDA

View Full Version : KTM 250 Motard Conversion

LankyBastard
17th March 2012, 14:22
Hey all,

Looking for some help here, I have a 2012 KTM 250 XC-F, and want a set of motard wheels so I can also take it to a couple of track days for fun. Primarily still gonna be my dirtbike, so how easy is it to have a second set of 17 inch rims and swap them over before heading to the track?

Total noob asking here so please enlighten with any info you can!

Cheers :Punk:

ktm84mxc
17th March 2012, 15:57
With a KTM it's easy you'll find the motard wheel sets pop up on Trademe regularly expect to pay between $800-1g, most will come with disc rotors, but you will need to get the right sprocket to suit the 250f. KTM's use the same hub size across their model range .

LankyBastard
18th March 2012, 09:22
Cheers for that! I found these on Torpedo 7 http://www.torpedo7.co.nz/products/T7WHSN0SM/title/torpedo7-supermoto-cnc-wheel-set-17-

Is that what i'm after? I know i'll need a disk and rear sproket, but what do you think to the wheels?

ktm84mxc
18th March 2012, 14:16
That will do the Trick, now cost in a set of tyres [I'd go for a used set 1st] , disc rotors get a wavy set you'll need the bolts also, same for the sprocket and get a chain to match,
Check out KTM's hard parts catalog for Motard parts like oggy nobs for the axles & foot peg rubbing blocks, a set of barkbusters and your good to go.

ducatilover
18th March 2012, 17:49
Make sure the disc sizes and offsets are the same. If they're the same and the hub/axle are the same, you're in for some serious fun!

LankyBastard
18th March 2012, 19:30
Awesome thanks, ordered the wheels now, when they arrive I'll get the disks/sprocket sorted. Can I run with the standard rear sprocket size and just use the same chain or will the gearing be way too low?

ktm84mxc
19th March 2012, 07:33