PDA

View Full Version : Hello and thank you (the novel)

mellowyellow
9th April 2012, 08:11
Hi, i'm new to bikes but not to forums.
Thank you to these forums. While i have been looking into getting a good learner bike, google kept pointing me here for most questions i had in regards to gear, bikes, safety concerns and just general random crap. this place has helped me alot as a guest.

As i had learnt from these forums, my ride was not actually the crusier i had always dreamed of, but a sport bike. for me, being able to corner and brake like a noob was important to me.
I learnt that a yamaha scorpio would be a great learner bike, i also leant that even if you cant test ride a bike (too noobish to ride/drop a bike I dont own) so i sat on the scorpio and the Hyosung GT250P (just a naked R). both were comfortable, the hyosung (hobag) directed my line of sight towards the speedo, rear view mirrors and everything infront of me. the neutral position scorpio offered no direction. i was sitting up straight free to become lost in my surroundings. i figure the hobag is like having blinders on a horse.

Apparently looks isnt everything either, to be seen looking good is one thing, to always be seen no matter what is most important.
So when i found a yellow Hyosung GT250R, i figured yellow may not look as good as black or red but atleast it can be seen easier.
after looking through these forums, i learnt what to expect from a hobag. dodgy digital clock/speedo, crap tires and brake pads and a sore butt. seems like a good kinda bike to me, tires and pads can be changed, who needs a clock when you can buy a wrist watch and most jap import cars speedo's are out by 10Km/r at 100km/h anyway. not like they are plagued with engine, handling, brake issues.