PDA

View Full Version : Long time reader, recently joined (Phantom Limb)

Phantom Limb
10th July 2012, 13:30
Hey all,
I'm a Design Engineer by trade, I live down some dirty, twisty, poorly maintained goat track north of Auckland where riding a bike is something akin to piloting a mechanical bull at speed, but I love it all the same! :devil2:
I started out on 2 smoke dirt bikes, but after taking a job in the big smoke I switched to road bikes in order to make the 100Km/day commute more berable (Sitting in traffic makes me quite murderous, just ask my wife).
I took the sensible route and piloted a VTR250 for 40,000Km in 24months. I then decided that 400Km / week is too much time to spend in the saddle of a bike designed for 5min journeys.
My current steed is much better suited to the task:

GTRMAN
10th July 2012, 14:03
Nice bike, welcome to the circus

Phantom Limb
10th July 2012, 16:04
Thanks mate.
I've been having a great time getting to know the big XJR on these poxy northland roads. How can people say muscle bikes can't corner? Sure the big girl is a little less responsive to input than a sports machine, but if you grab it by the scruff and put some weight behind your movements it really is rewarding. :banana:

I'm also finding that a bit of extra weight does wonders to soak up corner corrugations, bumps, dead possums and the like.

george formby
10th July 2012, 16:12
Hello.

You should jump into the XJR, CB and the other one in green thread.

Love the XJR in blue with yamaha tread on the tank. One day, one day.....

Maha
10th July 2012, 16:15
XJR's are the biz, I was on a CB1300 for three years as of about september last year...
Welcome to kiwibiker...can get a bit rough at times but it seems you lived with the bumpy stuff before?

Phantom Limb
10th July 2012, 16:53
XJR's are the biz, I was on a CB1300 for three years as of about september last year...
Welcome to kiwibiker...can get a bit rough at times but it seems you lived with the bumpy stuff before?