PDA

View Full Version : Gsxr250 engine help

Askor
28th August 2012, 14:35
Hey guys,
A while ago i bought a gsxr250 (gj72a) in parts to work on as a project.
Iv put it all together and took it for its first test ride today but there is a really bad rattle coming from the timing chain. Also there was a loud-ish ticking from the valve cover, so i killed the engine immediately and let it cool down, tried again and the ticking is gone? I've had a look at the CCT and it seems to be fine so i guess I'll have to put a new timing chain in it..
Also started tuning the carbs aswell under load (hence the test ride)
Any advice? I havent taken the engine apart yet but i have a spare engine that i have, so swapping parts shouldnt be too much of an issue.
Cheers :)

SILVER SUZI
28th August 2012, 15:05
Well I'm no mechanic, but I'm pretty sure ballancing the carbs whilst on a test ride is going to be ....um......errr.... somewhat difficult!
I ballanced the carbs on my old GSX when I had one. You need to make sure the diaphrams don't have so much as a needle hole in them or you'll never get them ballanced. Likewise your intake manifold.
Then get hold of a carb ballancing tool (I borrowed one off someone on here), or build one if you are going to keep the bike for a while. It's basically a vacum gague for each cylinder and some vacum tubing.
Then most importantly......................get the fuck onto youtube! and someone will tell you how to do it. You need the right revs, and you need to know which screw to turn where.

ducatilover
28th August 2012, 15:14
Check valve clearances
Balance carbs (make a manometer with 2t oil, fuck the vac gauges)
Check then CCT again, when it's out put it under pressure (err...push on it quite hard)
Measure the CCT spring against Suzi specs
Check how tight the chain is by pulling up on it on top of the sprocket

Buy a big as fuck hammer.

Askor
28th August 2012, 16:21