PDA

View Full Version : My Experience to share...

ktee
8th August 2005, 12:07
Hi all, I'm newly registered but have been reading for a while and find heaps of valuable info in these threads.

I've been riding for 8 months now. I brought a Kawasaki ZZR250 to learn on (sharing with Hubby). I found it heavy until I did my basic skills course (on their bike), came home and didn't really feel the weight the same. But ... I can ride this bike at 50k and higher no probs but as someone very blunt pointed out ... that is not riding, the real skill in riding is when the bike is going slow ... if you can control it without feeling like the weight of the bike is going to take over, then you are truly riding.

I was told the ZZR was a sports bike and would not allow me to master and practice my slow riding skills because the ZZR is built for speed. I was told to try a Suzuki GN250 and ditch my ZZR! NO WAY - I love the look of my bike and Sports Bikes in general and wasn't keen on cruiser style.
However after dwelling, for a month, on my dilema of not wanting to part with my ZZR and really wanting to feel in control of my bike at carpark speed - I picked up, at a bargain price, a GN250 off Trademe. This was a perfect solution coz I didn't have to part with my ZZR.
Wow ... I am having so much more fun on this bike. It's really giving me the confidence with slow riding and it's not that slow. Mine is 1984 and sounds really grunty even thou its only a 250cc.
So my advice is put aside, like I have, the "I don't like cruiser style" thoughts and go to a bike shop and just try one. You can't progress from 250 until you have your full license so, whilst learning, find a bike that you feel comfortable on in all situations and worry about look after you have mastered the riding skills that will make you a better rider.
I may be converted to the Cruiser style yet ... but no promises.
Safe riding everyone and By the way - I am a GN250 rider who WAVES.