PDA

View Full Version : What is a good first road bike?

ForcedFalcon
10th December 2012, 15:49
Hey guys, So as the title says whats a good first road bike? I've been looking around for my first bike but wanted some peoples opinions before i went out and spent my money.

I've owned a DT175 just to have some fun in the forest and down the beach with friends so I'm not a complete beginner but not the most experienced person.
I was looking at a few FZR250's but I've been told they have carb problems and the front forks have problems?

Any opinions and pros/cons on the FZR250 and other bikes would be much appreciated.

Cheers.

skippa1
10th December 2012, 16:06
what you should do is use the search function and read the multitude of threads that are exactly the same. Then once reading them, you will discover that opinions are like arseholes, we've all got one and they are all different. Then as a final step, you will go out and buy the shiny red one that you had your eye on.

Laava
10th December 2012, 16:35
If you are not a small person and are mature, ie you won,t be doing wheelies and burnouts everywhere, I would recommend that you get something a bit bigger than a 250 for the road. Just my 2c

Berg
10th December 2012, 16:50
What licence have you got? That makes a difference these days.

clonak
10th December 2012, 17:52
Just go all out and get a 1Ltr. You wont be able to regret it.

Theres a few threads in the Newbies section on this same topic. Check out the lams list and google a few bikes, if you see something you like, take one for a ride. If it feels good, buy it. Dont bother with what anyone else says about it, if they make a bad coment about it, they are just jelous.

But you also need to facter in price range, style of bike, distance traveling, likely hood of you actually enjoying it(so you would want something that will hold its value...). Seen a few people go all out on a bike, then never use it.