PDA

View Full Version : Quality build

superjackal
1st March 2013, 18:10
Hi

Stuck wallowing around cheap bikes while still learning and on my restricted. It seems a lot of the learner/LAMs bikes aren't so good quality-wise. My GN needs REGULAR attention to ward off tin worm. I realise GNs were built to a price. And then built in China.

My question is related to a longer term keeper. I'm still new to bikes but I want to buy new in a couple of years. I tend to hoard everything so the new bike will be a long-term keeper - if not go to the grave with me. Call me a romantic but I love stories about long-term vehicle ownership - bike or car. So, which bikes are made from high quality materials and to high standards? Which ones aren't rust buckets within 5 years?

Cheers
GNJ

bogan
1st March 2013, 18:16
Hondas

Or pretty much any other bike if properly maintained.

FJRider
1st March 2013, 18:25
My GN needs REGULAR attention to ward off tin worm. I realise GNs were built to a price. And then built in China.

And ...how old/how many km's ... when YOU bought it .. ???

Only the Chinese built ones really had (longevity) issues. There are plenty of Japan built models still going strong (for a GN anyway) now. I bet you bought yours for the price ... not build quality.

If your bike needs regular attention ... perhaps you need to talk to the person that did the pre-purchase check of it first ...

bogan
1st March 2013, 18:56
If your bike needs regular attention ... perhaps you need to talk to the person that did the pre-purchase check of it first ...

If they weren't too good on the pre-purchase inspection, are you sure they are the best bet to do the servicing?

FJRider
1st March 2013, 19:05
If they weren't too good on the pre-purchase inspection, are you sure they are the best bet to do the servicing?

And ... after a succession of "not the best to do the servicing" type owners as well .... probably not.