PDA

View Full Version : Feelers on Price...

Lord Pac
12th January 2004, 21:21
Ok- I'm requesting your expertise on prices!

The new R1 04 will be available soon so hit me back with what you think I'll get for my 01 R1- and if there are any potential buyers out there...

Specs-
R1 01 BLUE
everything is standard- immaculate showroom condition.
Reg serviced
new pirelli diablo front and rears- 120/70 and 180/55
Mileage- only 6200Km's hasn't been thrashed/abused- yet!!

BugSplat
17th January 2004, 10:14
I’m no expert but here’s my 0.02 worth.

Sad but true there’s a fairly limited market out there, even just run in supper bikes.

Dealers are clearing new 03 R1’s as low as $19,000, that’s 0 KM’s & full 2 years factory warranty.

Your bike’s already been off the showroom floor, subtract $2,000
It’s about to be 3 models old, so subtract say $4,000

That means you’re probably looking at a ballpark value of $13,000 if you can find a buyer ?, less if you'r tradeing :buggerd:

It’s not all bad news though; I’m in a similar dilemma, having a 2002 R1 that’s going in for its 60,000 km service this Wednesday.
I don’t know how strong my resolve will be when I see & ride the 04 R1 but I’m seriously considering taking the $10,000 ish that it’d cost me to upgrade and getting a second bike instead. (Sorry not a second R1… although the thought did cross my mind to save some ‘on road costs’ by getting a second bike same model & colour as the one I have… )

Keeping the 02 & getting a second bike would mean I escape the two year model update depreciation trap :bash: . The old R1’s not worth as much so my insurance is less & having 2 bikes I’d consider cutting back to 3Rd party insurance. That should more than cover the additional registration costs.

Just a thought, have you asked yourself "do I need more bike than the R1 I've already got" :confused: and if I wanted a second bike what would it be :banana: