PDA

View Full Version : when a truck is goin past on the other side of the road

sunhuntin
28th August 2005, 15:05
is there a way to avoid bein blowin into the ditch?? usually when a truck is coming, i slow and move as far left as possible. i also experimented with keeping my speed and just moving slightly. is there any hard and fast rule to keep from bein blowin around like a sheet of paper?

:sherlock:

Beemer
28th August 2005, 15:25
When I started riding I was told to move to the far left as you approach a truck coming towards you, then angle gently towards the centre line as the two vehicles pass. I was sceptical but it really does seem to work. It must have something to do with the turbulence the truck creates and where that turbulence is the worst - perhaps at the rear of the truck it is less than at the sides, I don't know!

The only hard part is if you come up to a truck on a corner, especially a left-hander, but use your common sense and you'll be right.

You can usually see a truck well ahead, so just move towards the left of the lane, then as you draw level with it, ride towards the centre line (to where you would normally ride), but on a bit more of an angle than if you were just moving back into position after letting someone pass. Hard to explain, but give it a try and you'll see what I mean!

Antallica
28th August 2005, 15:41
Heavier bike helps. On my old FXR150 (118kg dry) she got blown all over the place. Bandit's all good. You could try getting as low as possible and hug the tank, worked for me.

FROSTY
28th August 2005, 15:45
Beemer has it nailed actually.By leaning in towards the truck you end up countering the effect of his bow wave

Beemer
28th August 2005, 15:48
Beemer has it nailed actually.By leaning in towards the truck you end up countering the effect of his bow wave