PDA

View Full Version : Piston ring - fzr250 86 2kr

Shak
16th February 2014, 22:58
Hi guys, been browsing these forums for a while now and some great reads here.

Got the bike about a year ago but haven't had time to really fix it, I keep getting a bogging at 8000 revs (struggling to higher revs), Sealed up the air intakes (with initial thought of leaks)

I have been told by a compression test that I need a piston ring replacement by my mech, but he quoted me up to 1000$ for this job.

Im new to bikes and low experience but have reasonable knowledge of how the engine works. good at following guides.

Is this a job for a newbie lol.. and is that a reasonable price for a piston job?

Any help would be great :)!

hayd3n
16th February 2014, 23:05
is the bike smokey?? did the mechanic mention valve clearances?

Shak
16th February 2014, 23:46
not smokey at all, always starts no problem.

He txted me that number 3 piston has bad compression and it requires new piston rings.

he told me in person when i went to pickup the bike (this even happened about 4 months ago) that he only did a compression test .

Shak
17th February 2014, 08:17
Currently just looking into getting new spark plugs. Any specific ones I should look at for this bike?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Paul in NZ
17th February 2014, 08:19
Do a leak down test... Those things are a bit hard on valves as well as in the modern fuel clags the whole mess up...

See if you can find my FZR 400 thread - as I did the top end on it, loads of pictures there..

Here

http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/showthread.php/49874-fzr400-exup

Shak
17th February 2014, 08:21
Will check. Thanks

The Reibz
17th February 2014, 08:56
Run NGK-CR8E plugs.
You may have CR9E's already in it but my 3LN ran alot better with the slightly hotter plug. Careful when you put them in, the ali in that head is really soft. I had to retap all mine to get the plugs to go in.