PDA

View Full Version : Yet another newbie

mitsievo
31st August 2005, 13:13
Hey all,
I'm new to everything here, I've never owned a bike and only ridden one like three times lol.
Anyway I'm looking at getting my 1st bike, I have access to around $1000 to $1500, and just wandering what people would advise me to get based as i have little to no experience.
Also probly a dumb question but i dont know the answer, do I have to have a bike to sit my learners lol?

DemonWolf
31st August 2005, 13:26
Welcome to KB mitsievo... I'm sure a few of the peeps here will point you in the right direction... =)

CPB
31st August 2005, 13:40
:Punk: Welcome mitsievo...been a while since I sat my learners, but back then you sat a basic handling course, bikes provided, and answered some written oral questions..heaps of threads on this site with appropriate links, do a search for 'licence' and your bound to find what you're after - same goes for 'first bike' ...

Jonty
31st August 2005, 13:41
Hey all,
I'm new to everything here, I've never owned a bike and only ridden one like three times lol.
Anyway I'm looking at getting my 1st bike, I have access to around $1000 to $1500, and just wandering what people would advise me to get based as i have little to no experience.
Also probly a dumb question but i dont know the answer, do I have to have a bike to sit my learners lol?

Welcome to the site. There are heaps of threads here about getting your licence and what bikes are available for learners. But quickly, no you don't need a bike to do your learners, you can hire one from the Basic Handling Course instructor and then sit your theory. For $1K to 1.5K you should look at a GN250, but remeber you should look to spend $1000 on gear alone.

Good luck

crashe
31st August 2005, 14:07
Welcome to the site.

Make sure that you have money to buy a new helmet, a decent set of gloves, some decent boots and jacket.