PDA

View Full Version : Dirt Novice School near Auckland?

BM-GS
1st September 2005, 09:56
Hi all,

Been riding on-road for years, but reckon dirt has to be the way to go now that I have 2 kiddies. Wandered along to the Woodhill family day last w/e & #1 son loved it - #2 son slept, dunno how...

I'm looking at getting a start in off-roading, so I'm looking for a course or something to tell me to either keep at it or to go home & buy a PlayStation.

Anyone know of any Auckland-area dirt schools which cater for total novices? I'm not sure how well I'll take to it (having no talent), so I'd rather pay for a couple of days tuituon/experience, than buy a bike, kit, trailer, tow-hitch... Me & wife fancy a go - the sprogs can start when they're bigger and we've had enough time to get faster than them.

On the plus side, I have no bad habits to unlearn, except those engendered by 15 years of road-riding (avoid gravel at all costs, keep left, etc). My one day on dirt (Geraint Jones*/Yamaha Enduro School in Wales) was brilliant fun, but I ended the day with a shagged knee (Doc said I was lucky) and falling asleep in my beer. I did learn:
a) that the bike was better then I was, so do what it said.
b) that if things got tricky, backing off the throttle was usually bad.
c) that most 10-year-olds in Wales are ~4x faster than me.
d) for the next 3 days I will hurt a lot, all over.

* Mr Jones was UK Enduro champ 4 years running and he was helped by the current champ & his 2nd-placed teenaged son, just to make us all feel inferior.

spiller
1st September 2005, 12:15
www.poweradventures.co.nz

http://www.honda-motorcycles.co.nz/Rider_Training_OFFROAD.htm

Can anyone else recommend any others??

Dutchee
1st September 2005, 21:07