PDA

View Full Version : Malaysian of Chinese & Indian descent living in Singapore moving to Auckland (rijac)

rijac
30th May 2014, 19:13
hello there. been lurking a bit while working the paperwork for my transfer and visa. now that its all firmed up, decided to join up!

Taking a job transfer to Auckland and will be starting work July 1. Plan on arriving last week of June.

Looking forward to (eventually) meeting up with bikers in NZ. Used to ride a Honda Fame 90 cc in the early 90s when I was a uni student and for a while after starting work in Kuala Lumpur. Back then you could get an L license, stick and L plate on a bike and off you go for 2 years without needing any tests or training... so i never bothered with the full license. Eventually moved to Singapore and wasn't able to ride. After many years decided to go through the process of getting a Sgp License. It took 9 months! and i got my license in january. Now i qualify for riding bikes up to 200 cc only. I have an Aprilia RS125 which will be gone in about a weeks time. But i found out Sgp licenses cannot be converted in NZ and I'll have to take a test!

So it will be a while before i can ride, i reckon but any advise on what's the shortest route to a license in NZ will be welcomed!

Photo attached is "Fiero" my soon to be sold RS.

oneblackflag
30th May 2014, 21:59
hello there. been lurking a bit while working the paperwork for my transfer and visa. now that its all firmed up, decided to join up!

Taking a job transfer to Auckland and will be starting work July 1. Plan on arriving last week of June.