PDA

View Full Version : New here

cheetor
24th January 2004, 23:32
Hello All,
I'm new to the idea of riding a motorbike, having driven cars most of the time, I thought I might like a bit of a change, motorbikes seemed the obvious choice, I think mabye I might have a slight headstart having ridded downhill mountainbikes quite regularly, and having a fair idea of how increadibly stupid most NZ car drivers are (I alwas am very consideriate to bikers and mountianbikers..etc)

I had been looking at a Suzuki FXR150 as my first bike once I get my 6L
any comments?

750Y
25th January 2004, 02:27
welcome cheetor. a good learners bike because it's small light easy to handle and not too much power to overwhelm you.

What?
25th January 2004, 06:17
Welcome to the world, Cheetor.
Be warned that motorcycles can be addictive. And FUN.
The FXR would be an excellent choice as a learner bike. Add some rider training into your budget, and buy the best protective gear you can reasonably afford.
Oh, and spend a bit of time looking around this board - there's been lots of advice (some of it good!!) to newbies...

SpankMe
25th January 2004, 07:19
any comments?

The FXR150 is too small for your first bike if you plan on moving up to larger bikes later. Get yourself a decent 250cc. The Honda VTR250 (http://www.dropbears.com/m/models/honda/vtr250_99.htm) would make an excellent first bike. The Suzuki Goose (http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/showthread.php?t=137) would make an even better learners bike if it wasn't for the stupid 250cc laws.

Jackrat
25th January 2004, 09:08
Gidday mate,Welcome aboard.
If you like the look of the FXR go for it,it is the ideal bike for your needs.

cheetor
25th January 2004, 11:49
Welcome to the world, Cheetor.
Be warned that motorcycles can be addictive. And FUN.
The FXR would be an excellent choice as a learner bike. Add some rider training into your budget, and buy the best protective gear you can reasonably afford.