PDA

View Full Version : Tyre pando or road side repair kits?

mikie51
3rd January 2015, 16:30
anybody had any experience with roadside Tyre repair kits, CHEERS Mike

fridayflash
3rd January 2015, 16:44
ive tried tyre pando a few times..in desparation and both times they went down pretty quickly and make a mess to clean up when changing tube again later. i have no experience with mushroom plug type thingees for tubeless but am keen to hear whats what:rolleyes:

AllanB
3rd January 2015, 18:15
Used Pandos years back - messy crap. I've been carrying one of those plug patch kits for 7 years now - not had to use but I reckon the day I forget to put that bum pouch on I'll get a flat :violin:

Note - I was in a shop a day or so back (Repco?) bloke asking about Pandas for motorcycles and he was told they do not recommend them for bikes.

pete376403
3rd January 2015, 19:54
I've never had sucess with Pando, Slime, etc with tubes. They probably work ok with tubeless tyres.

Trade_nancy
3rd January 2015, 20:07
I've used the Pando eons ago...it worked. Have one that I carry in the long haul kit...but I now rely on plug kit as 1st resort. The Pando will make a mess of the inside of your tyre/tube..but it will maybe get you home...repairer will hate you.
I have used the plugs with success. Easy. Put two into my previous rear tyre before I replaced it. Didn't have to use the compressed air cartridges to inflate though as I was at home and pumped up with the compressor. I have a kit of mini adapter with 4 x CO2 cartridges..cost $45 or so from Cycletreads. I also carry a compact bicycle pump on tours in case of option 1 inflation method failing.

mikie51
4th January 2015, 08:03
thanks for advise folks,i will check out plug kit as well as co2 for inflating, Cheers Mikie

BlackSheepLogic
4th January 2015, 08:49
I've used the Pando eons ago...it worked. Have one that I carry in the long haul kit...but I now rely on plug kit as 1st resort