PDA

View Full Version : Yamaha R1 2007

aprilia_RS250
2nd April 2015, 09:09
My R1 recently developed a "knock" every time the throttle is applied. I only rode ~1km after I noticed the knock, tried to coast it as much as I could. My heart sank when I heard it.

I am not a mechanic or know anything about rebuilding engines etc. But it sounds like this is a spun rod bearing (not the CCT or valves), which means a &*() load of money needs to be spent to take the engine out open, inspect, assess all damaged components, get a part list etc etc. I was given a rough estimate to expect potentially ~2-3k in parts, ~1-2k labour.

Bike as it "was" I think fair price would have been ~10k, she has been meticulously maintained. ~43,000km, constantly serviced, I really looked after.

I can't afford the labour and parts quoted above, even if I was lucky in terms of total damage. I could only put in $1k towards fixing her right now! To Save up ~5k would take me 6 months....

Seems I may have to sell her. What salvage value could I get? I've seen write offs sold by insurance companies go up to 4k on TM auctions. Should I do this?

Anyone have ideas or suggestions apart from selling her? I could ask the folks or my bank manager (he might laugh though) for bit more money but this would really stretch me and I really don't like being in debt and not knowing what the total cost may be. Has a lot of sentimental value to me, took me 2 years to save up to get her. I paid 15k in 2011 to nab her, she had only 4000km on clock and never skipped a beat until a week ago :weep::weep::weep:

jellywrestler
2nd April 2015, 10:03
where are you?

aprilia_RS250
2nd April 2015, 11:21
where are you?

Located in Auckland.......

SVboy
2nd April 2015, 14:02
Get it assessed by a mechanic you trust before making a decision. If it needs a teardown-save heaps by getting the motor out and putting it back in. Find out the parts it needs-buy from overseas and save heaps.

Ender EnZed
2nd April 2015, 14:19