PDA

View Full Version : Leathers or Jackets with kelvar ?

GNCharlie
21st September 2005, 22:22
I'm just a newbie just wondering what is better leather jackets and pants, or the jacket type clothing with kelvar in it ??

SuperDave
21st September 2005, 22:27
My vote is for leather. Had two bins thus far and my leather jacket did a hell of a lot better job than my now sold Cordura jacket. My current leather jacket has no armour whatsover whereas the old cordura one had soft armour in the elbows and shoulders.

cowpoos
21st September 2005, 22:32
racers only wear leathers....there is a reason for that...I use both...but always have leathers on...and put the condure jacket over top for cold or rainy days...

madboy
21st September 2005, 22:45
Depends what type of riding your doing IMHO.

I wear cordura on the road, commuting etc. They've survived a minor bin. It's waterproof, has plenty of pockets for wallet, phone, etc and it's warm. Warm and dry are two factors I like. IMO just cos it's raining doesn't mean to say I have to get wet.

I've got leathers on their way for the track and quick weekend rides, since I figure if I put it down at track speeds my cordura will probably do the job, but it'll be written off.

I'm guessing with a GN125 you might be doing mainly road/commuting work? These are just my opinions.

Big Dave
21st September 2005, 22:47
I'm just a newbie just wondering what is better leather jackets and pants, or the jacket type clothing with kelvar in it ??

Have a bit of a search through the archives - there has been much debate on this topic in the past.

There isn't a right answer. Both have advantages.

I recommend initially getting leather and a cheap waterproof 'spray suit' for over it, then get a good gore-tex number later on - for the winter.

Go to a reputable shop, compare the specifications and the price for what is in your budget.

cowpoos
21st September 2005, 23:09