PDA

View Full Version : Head Gasket

nudemetalz
26th October 2005, 20:04
Gidday Peoples,

I now have the NZ-250 head off the barrel to replace the head gasket.
It wasn't too difficult a job.

I finally have a genuine workshop manual arriving tomorrow so I can get all of the camshaft bracket torques as well as the head torques info.

However I have noticed that there looks like a sealant-like residue on the top of the barrel. In my experiences you don't normally use any gasket-glue on head-gaskets.
Am I wrong here and should I use a sealant as well?

Also I checked the head and no dreaded cracks thank goodness !!

Motu
26th October 2005, 20:16
What does your new gasket look like? Some have sealer built in....

Bonez
26th October 2005, 20:17
It's just head gasket material burnt onto it.

nudemetalz
26th October 2005, 21:09
Mine's the genuine Suzuki 3-gaskets-to-1 type.

Ah okay, thanks Bonez, makes sense 'cause I've never used bonding agent before and was certain you don't because of the pressures involved.

FROSTY
26th October 2005, 21:21
some mechanics use a smidge instyant gasket--dunno why

Motu
26th October 2005, 22:07
For the old Hemi Valiants the gasket set came with a note to use Hylomar.I still use Hylomar for head gaskets with suspect surfaces.We did a Chrysler Neon head gasket last year (and the clutch yesterday) and with the gasket set Continental Cars supplied a spray can of sealant....Chrysler's fix.I also use a can of copper gasket sealant on some head gaskets - so yes,sealants are commonly used,and often recomended by the dealers,and the gasket manufacturers.

nudemetalz
26th October 2005, 22:27
Thanks, Motu.

When I get the manual, I'll see what Suzuki spec for it.

Brian d marge
27th October 2005, 00:57