PDA

View Full Version : MX boots

kro
29th October 2005, 17:51
I have been riding road bikes since 1987, and have grown used to light road boots. I am looking to buy a trail bike, and go adventuring on the millions of tracks in and around Nelson, but have a major issue with big heavy MX boots.

I tried some Fox Trackers, and Thor Quadrants today, and the guy at the bike shop said the Quads were "as light as it gets", and I thought I had an elephant strapped to each foot.

Can anyone tell me what a good lightweight boot is, or if they even exist.

Would REALLY appreciate some help on this.

XTC
29th October 2005, 20:03
You could try the Forma GT boots if it's just an adventure riding boot you're after. See their add in the kiwi Rider (Forbes and Davies Showcase) But these offer only a little ankle protection. If you are doing trail riding and jumps etc get a good pair of MX boots and go to the Gym so you have the strength to walk in them. Once riding you do not notice the weight and will be thankful for the extra protection.

Motu
29th October 2005, 20:15
I'm the opposite to you - I've been wearing off road boots for so long that road boots feel like wearing carpet slippers to me,I'm too scared to put my feet into them! Try some trials boots,they are lighter and more flexible than an MX boot,with a grippy sole,but still offer very good protection.

kro
30th October 2005, 09:05
Cool, thanks guys, apprerciate that.

Adamski
21st June 2006, 00:30
Yeah this is a tricky question - so did you come up with a winner?

I am looking for similar boots - want something slightly lighter than MX boots, but still protective :yes: . I'm interested in the Sidi Discovery boots - any opinions on those out there?

chris
21st June 2006, 08:50
Stylmartin Quad

SDU
21st June 2006, 12:52