PDA

View Full Version : Importing stuff from the US, halp!

Jamezo
14th November 2005, 18:14
I am going to try and import a Behringer V-Amp 2 from the US; I found an American-based online music company that will ship internationally no problems.

But I've never done this before, so I check the NZ customs site, check out the site for private importers, and get bombarded with all this scary stuff about import duties and holding items and arrival papers and revenue waivers and WAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!

If I get them to send my widget in the mail, is there really anything scary I need to watch out for, can I expect for it just to arrive on my doorstep without any input on my part after the company ships it?

I appreciate any help...

Jackrat
14th November 2005, 18:59
I am going to try and import a Behringer V-Amp 2 from the US; I found an American-based online music company that will ship internationally no problems.

But I've never done this before, so I check the NZ customs site, check out the site for private importers, and get bombarded with all this scary stuff about import duties and holding items and arrival papers and revenue waivers and WAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!

If I get them to send my widget in the mail, is there really anything scary I need to watch out for, can I expect for it just to arrive on my doorstep without any input on my part after the company ships it?

I appreciate any help...

I bring things in from the states on a regular basis an the only real advice I can give is (stay away from customs)
The first time I bought a shipment in I did all the right things by customs an got taken to the cleaners big time.Since then I just take my chances,keep the value of my shipments down,even if that means two small shipments rather than one larger one,,,an for the last 15 odd years no worrys.
UPS is very reliable so if you have any postage/handling problems it will most likely be with NZ post.
They've given me a few nightmares.:brick:

limbimtimwim
14th November 2005, 19:14