PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an engineer

jacob
8th December 2005, 07:56
Hi all,

I'm looking for someone to remove a bolt which has snapped off in the cylinder head of my 1967 Honda S90.

Does anyone have any recommendations of someone or somewhere to get this done (in Auckland)?

[As you can probably tell I'm a complete noob to riding and this forum.]
:slap:

Bartman10
8th December 2005, 07:57
I Don't know about engineers in Auckland but welcome to the site. :2thumbsup :2thumbsup

Good luck with the Honda.

kerryg
8th December 2005, 09:26
Hi all,

I'm looking for someone to remove a bolt which has snapped off in the cylinder head of my 1967 Honda S90.

Does anyone have any recommendations of someone or somewhere to get this done (in Auckland)?

[As you can probably tell I'm a complete noob to riding and this forum.]
:slap:

Hi and welcome. Any car or bike workshop would do it, it's not an unusual thing. It's actually not that hard to do yourself in many cases, depending on access. Get a set of ezi-outs from Repco or wherever, drill into the the broken bolt, screw the ezi-out counter-clockwise into the hole you've drilled and out comes the bolt.

imdying
8th December 2005, 10:33
Sooo many people break easy outs off it isn't funny. In my last job we were always cursing the bastards... makes getting the stud/bolt out heaps harded.

A neat tricl is to leave it soaking overnight in penetrating oil, then use a reversible drill with a left hand twist drill bit. As you drill into the stud, it'll grab, and wind it out :) Of course, you might just make a mess...

Waylander
8th December 2005, 10:53
Like the name mate.

kerryg
8th December 2005, 10:54
Sooo many people break easy outs off it isn't funny. In my last job we were always cursing the bastards... makes getting the stud/bolt out heaps harded.