PDA

View Full Version : RG150 Powervalve trouble

Coyote
14th December 2005, 16:24
Well this afternoon I was figuring out how to clean the powervalves cause my impression was this was a easy task. Well I don't know what the hell I'm doing so no it hasn't been easy. So I've taken the exhaust off, had a go at undoing some throttle control like thingy next to the powervalve and after reading this: http://www.geocities.com/zorst1/zorstvalve.html?1134346318546 I took the exhaust valve cover off. Realising I need to take the radiator off to have a proper look inside I thought stuff it, come back to it tomorrow. As I was tidying up I noticed inside the powervalve compartment thingy there were 2 loose springs and a loose screw. Now I'm no experts with engines as you can tell but from what I know this is a bad thing right? What the hell should I do now?

Sketchy_Racer
14th December 2005, 20:51
well the fact that they are loose are a problem.... thats why its got no power... the two strings should have a retainer clip that holds them in plece... thats what the screw should hold in place... Suzuki powervalves are all very similar so ill post some pics up from my RM powervalves to show you :)

Sketchy_Racer
14th December 2005, 21:04
heres a pic ;)

Ivan
14th December 2005, 21:08
clean em with oven cleaner and a plastic bag and I had same problem on my RG150 my brother had his power valves lying in pieces and it still performed

Aiolos
15th December 2005, 06:07
Yeah. I think everyone has that problem sooner or later. Shoulda used a longer screw I guess.

I need to clean mine properly. Dad was all paranoid about getting gunk in the engine last time I had the cover off (to fix this problem). Silly man.

Coyote
15th December 2005, 08:38