PDA

View Full Version : Parking bikes in Auckland

Mokoro
7th March 2004, 10:52
Hey there. Yes im a newbie.. (only got a learners licence, eek!) Im interested in getting a bike up here in Auckland. Im wondering what the deal is with parking.. I know its not quite the same as what I witnessed in Melbourne, where bikes have designated areas on the foot path.. Well at least I dont think thats the case here.. Has anyone got experience parking a motor bike in central city in Auckland? My works shifting to Queen street soon..EEK! Im wondering if im better off with a bike.....

Cheers

wari
7th March 2004, 10:59
Hey there. Yes im a newbie.. (only got a learners licence, eek!) Im interested in getting a bike up here in Auckland. Im wondering what the deal is with parking.. I know its not quite the same as what I witnessed in Melbourne, where bikes have designated areas on the foot path.. Well at least I dont think thats the case here.. Has anyone got experience parking a motor bike in central city in Auckland? My works shifting to Queen street soon..EEK! Im wondering if im better off with a bike.....

Cheers
There are some designated (free I think) bike parks near Queen Street ... welcome :spudwave:

Mokoro
7th March 2004, 11:05
I am so going to check that out... But something tells me that I would be alone, riding in central Auckland. Is it case of no one comes out alive? Heh.. What with Auckland drivers and all..
Also what would security be like? After all, someone could just back a van up and lift the bike, peice of piss.

wari
7th March 2004, 12:30
I am so going to check that out... But something tells me that I would be alone, riding in central Auckland. Is it case of no one comes out alive? Heh.. What with Auckland drivers and all..
Also what would security be like? After all, someone could just back a van up and lift the bike, peice of piss.

Dunno about security , but it wouldn't be any different parked on the footpath now wouldit? :bye: