PDA

View Full Version : Visiting NZ in Feb with my Kiwi wife

Cycletech
30th December 2005, 09:16
Hey Chris here. My wife and i are going to NZ in February to visit her family. It will be my first time there. We live in Virigina(USA) right now. I work as a tech at the local Honda bike dealer. I also teach motorcycle safety to the Army.

Anyone know of any road racing going on in February? I would be nice to catch racing of some sort while we are there. I road raced a Ducati for a couple of years but had a real hard get off at Daytona in 02. Shattered my right leg, wrist, collar bone etc. Had to learn to walk all over again. Now i just like to watch.

I ride an 85 BMW K100RT most of the time. Thought i would hate when i picked it up but have grown to really like it athough it's almost impossible to wheelie. Other bikes are 92 900SS, DR200SE, CS3B Yamaha, and a Hodaka ace 100.

Drop me a line with anything i must see in the South Island. We fly into Christchurch on Feb 9 and leave out on the 23rd.

Chris

oh and what is the best beer to look for in NZ?

XTC
30th December 2005, 09:22
oh and what is the best beer to look for in NZ?

A cold one..... preferably free.

R1madness
30th December 2005, 09:40
Hi Chris. Sorry man you will have missed our national race series by about 2 weeks. The last round is here in Christchurch on the 20/21/22 January.
What to see and do? Well do you have access to a bike while here? If yes then i can point out a whole heap of great rides. I can lend ya a local road guide book and you can ride some of the best roads in the world. There are a couple of great alpine passes that connect up to make a fantastic 8 hour ride. You would get from one side of the country to the other and back in that time. Hahaha its a tiny little country but the corners are fantastic and the surface is mostly good.