PDA

View Full Version : SV1000 vs Blackbird vs GSXR1000 K6 vs Hyosung 250GT - Part 1

skelstar
6th January 2006, 21:34
I know what youre thinking:

"One of these things is not like the other"

But to be fair, theres nothing wrong with the new GSXR K6...its a very capable bike!

Note: Im a newb. If you do lots of reading of reviews (as I do) then little of this will be new, or particularly useful. Its just for fun, and to get my thoughts sorted.

So...Dafe, Darkman, VT and myself all took the afternoon off to do some riding in the sunny Waiarapa while the wind was at its calmest for days. Since I am still a fledgling rider and am soon going to be in the little-bike/big-bike transition, my mates have decided that I must ride their bikes to get a feel for what I want when the expensive time comes. So the following is a summary of what I thought of each bike, perhaps a bit of a discussion about their relevance to my riding style and requirements.

Context - or "what kinda rider are you skel?"
Im 33 (34 in 6 days woo hoo)...I have been riding my trusty Hyobag since July18. I have done 14800kms in 6 months. I consider myself to be a competant rider. Im no speed demon on a 250 (which some people in WGTN are quite capable of being) but I like going as quick as I can while riding comfortably within my limits (what ever they are). I commute on my bike everyday (against Welly traffic) and on the weekend I spend a great deal of time following (and sometimes leading) the bikes in this review all around the Wairarapa. I have no desire to ride at $2.00, probably more like $1.10-$1.20. I really dig carving up the traffic and enjoy riding long distances. For some reason I quite like riding in a straight line, soaking up the environment around me. I dig group rides and LOVE to laud it over cagers. <_<
Oh, technically I have never ridden anything else other than my V-Twin 250cc Hyobag.

to continue.....

Hitcher
7th January 2006, 13:34
Please continue, now that you have my attention.