PDA

View Full Version : Hi

celticyankee
20th March 2004, 07:42
Recently found this site and have lurked for a couple days....great site

I'm new to NZ (originally from New Hampshire, USA) came to this amazing country for a riding holiday as I had dreamed for many years of riding South Island after seeing a doco on the place.

Fell in love with the country and a kiwi guy so shipped my bikes and few odds & ends and here I am.

I had 14 years and approximately 150,000 miles (short riding season there) riding in the USA but have been humbled riding here. Guess here I'm in the "newie" category as it is completely different than any riding I've ever done.......very humbling.......

I ride an older HD that I built and modified myself over the years and also have a couple older Triumphs that need a "bit" of work before they're ready for the road here.

Haven't had much luck finding others to ride with so I ride mostly on me own. Hope that changes soon, I am getting a wee bit tired of the never ending feeling of being lost.

Hope that's enough for an intro.....

Safe Journeys to you

Ms Piggy
20th March 2004, 08:22
Welcome! You've come to right place if you are on the hunt for riding buddies or just to meet a great bunch of people :2thumbsup

So what is it about N.Z roads?

celticyankee
20th March 2004, 09:36
So what is it about N.Z roads?

Hi Celtic Sea Lilly!

Thanks for the welcome.

What is is about NZ roads? Hmm, where do I begin? Driving on the left would be a biggie. Every natural reaction I have on a bike is wrong. I am getting better with each K traveled, but it's not a "natural" thing to me yet.

Also the speed travelled on the roads. Perhaps because what is called a "highway" here to me seems more like a country back road and it doesn't seem right to travel hiway speeds on back roads (setting myself up for some HD bashing perhaps?)