PDA

View Full Version : Learner: Road to riding...

james.r
19th February 2006, 20:12
Hey all.

Just in need of a little advice on learning to ride.
Ridden farm bikes in the past, but now living in auckland city and need a road bike to commute. Budget of about 2k for a bike.
Anybody got any suggestions on learning to ride in the city, or training institutions, bearing in mind I'm a poor student...:violin:
Also - should I buy a bike before getting my learners?
and - should I buy my gear before taking basic handling test thingamey?

Apologies for lame questions...gotta start somewhere.

KATWYN
19th February 2006, 20:40
Hey all.

Just in need of a little advice on learning to ride.
but now living in auckland city and need a road bike to commute. .

Wear the right gears (including gloves,proper boots & protective pads) - especially if you are going to take the city on, on two wheels.

I would tend to learn first outside the city where
you aren't dodging all the cars at the same time trying to learn
and get some riding skills. - I still would not advise learning in the city

Ninja
20th February 2006, 08:06
Try RiderSkills, they provide the bike, helmet and training for the basic handling skills certificate. Based in Rosebank road and you can book online.
http://www.riderskills.co.nz

badmofo
20th February 2006, 13:22
yeah I just did my BHS with riderskills, it was quick and easy and they're the cheapest one's I could find $99. And they don't hit you with a big test at the end they just sign each thing off as you go so you don't get nervous and screw up.

$CENSLS1$
23rd February 2006, 19:12
by the sounds of it I'm going to be in your position soon hopefully.Cant wait to get out and about on a Bike :)
Goodluck dude and keep me posted about how you get on (I'll proberbly use most of your info to get my L licence too)

duckaddict
23rd February 2006, 20:26
Hello james.r,

I got my learners 3 weeks ago, and my BHS a week before that.