PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needing gear advice

badmofo
20th February 2006, 13:38
Hi girls and boys, I'm a total beginner, just bought a GN250 (and before you all start hassling me, I know its a slow and reasonably unatractive bike, but it's just for commuting to uni on). I've gotta go get some gear and I checked out the motomail outlet store in Kingsland. They have Nitro helmets for $79. Is this a good brand? seems kinda cheap but they look good to me. Also what's the best kind of gear for the warm humid auckland conditions cos all the jackets i've tried on make me feel like I'm in an oven. I guess you can't tell what it's like until you're riding with the wind chill etc but what's best, leather or synthetic with armour? It'd be nice to have some flash gears to attract the ladies, but then they'll see my GN and run, haha.

Devil
20th February 2006, 13:44
Hi,

I assume the helmet will be up to NZ safety standards, so thats a start, but you may find something a little more comfortable and quieter if you spend a little more money. the HJC CL-14 ive found to be a decent helmet thats easy on the wallet (Deals can be had around the $199 mark).

For cool gear, you want synthetic (deals with the rain better than leather as well!). Most jackets/pants come with a zip out thermal liner in them, so check for that the next time you're trying them on, you definately dont want that in during summer in auckland!

Dry weather, I wear a pair of draggin jeans ($199ish) to work which have kevlar lining in them. I also purchased the accessory knee armour for them ($30 ish) just for peace of mind. Not waterproof though! I believe Shift and Tecnic also sell similar products.

When you're shopping for all your gear, try and buy it all at once if you can, this will give you the best chance of working some kind of discount out of the shop.

Send a PM to AMPS and they may be able to help you out with a deal.

Ride safe.

Devil

Ixion
20th February 2006, 13:45