PDA

View Full Version : Advice on where to go from here

Ghost Lemur
5th April 2004, 14:43
I've been doing a lot of reading on and off for years about motorbikes, but have fiinally decided I can't resist the urge any longer. My previous riding experience has been limited to borrowing friends bikes.

Now where I'm seeking advice is on two points. Firstly, how difficult is it to get your licence without actually owning a bike?

Second, I'm a poor student with family, so which is better. Saving a little buying a "project bike/wreak" and then spending the money I'd otherwise still be saving on doing it up? Or, save longer and buy better outright.

I have like a zillion other questions but I think this will do for now.

duckman
5th April 2004, 14:52
Hi Ghost,

On your 1st question, provided you can basically ride a bike, you can hire one for the day and sit your practical. (obviously you don't need a bike to sit your theory).

On your 2nd question, I'd say. stay away from the "project bike". You can buy a second hand bike thats in good nick for f*ck all these days. Less than a grand will get you moving. :banana:

Devil
5th April 2004, 14:53
Firstly, how difficult is it to get your licence without actually owning a bike?
Easy as pie.
Had my learners for about a month now, only just about to get a bike (this sat! :D) Go do your basic handling cert, they basically check that you can ride there, and give you a little tuition. I did mine with Passrite for example www.passrite.co.nz
They give you a certificate which you take to the AA or whatever local licencing place you have, then you get the fill the in the forms and book in for your learners test. Yadda Yadda, not hard at all.

Two Smoker
5th April 2004, 15:24
Licence is piss easy to get..... definately save for a better bike.... project bikes = lots of $$$$

Ghost Lemur
5th April 2004, 16:28