PDA

View Full Version : Suzuki AX100

blitz
27th February 2006, 19:29
Hi there

I am considering purchasing a Suzuki AX100 once i get my learners (next tues) and i am just wanting your opinions or experiences on the bike.

I am upgrading from a 50cc scooter so i think that another 50cc's wont be anything that cant handel. I will mainly be using it to cruise to Uni each day (about 30mins each way) and am not expecting to go on open roads of coarse!! + I dont think the bike would be possible of holding high speeds for long!

The bike is a 2004 model and has 12,000ish ks on it. Hes wanting around $1200 for it. Is this reasonable? It comes with a new fuel tank and new WOF and Rego.

The bikes down at a dealership on Hewletts Rd Mt Maunganui but im in Aucks :Oops:

Are there any fellow KBers down there that have 10mins spare time to test ride it for me and give me their personal opinion :yes: Im a newbie and dont really know what to look for. Plus i dont want to drive all the way down there with a trailer to find out its a Lemon!! . Please PM me if you can do this Huge favor for me!!!

Any info or opinions would be greatley appreciated!!

Skunk
27th February 2006, 20:40
I picked up an 86 model (the same thing - they haven't changedin years) for $100 with rego on hold. Change the spark and she'll still do 100kph for extended periods.

Questions are:
1. What else could you get for $1200?
2. Is it still worth $1200 once you know the answer to 1.
3. Could you live with a cheaper, older one for a while and save the money for something better later?

blitz
27th February 2006, 22:05
Hmmm ive looked on trade me and for around $1600 upwards i could get a 150cc bike like a RG150 but im not to fussed on speed as i just want a low maintainance cruiser.

At the moment i havent seen any older ones for sale but i wouldnt mind an older one. I have seen one on bikepoint advertised for $2000 and it is the same year but with Higher K's. This ones going for $1200