PDA

View Full Version : Trials tyres on enduro bikes.

Motu
7th March 2006, 15:16
This is a question or a lesson,depending on your experiance...

There is a lot of talk on the net about this,every forum has a thread somewhere,this is more an article,but gives the story.
http://www.chilternhills.info/Trials%20tyres.htm

Even though I've had considerable experiance with trials tyres,it's still a scary thing to do,take off your monster knob and fit a smooth looking trials tyre.I gotta laugh though - I remember back in the 70s and 80s I'd spew when I saw the Yanks riding trials bikes with knobs,they didn't have clue...and now half the field at a race are on trials tyres.

I've been riding trials bikes for 25 years,so have a pretty good idea what they are capable of in the traction department.I also used to run trials tyres on the dirt track,and once rode Shane Scanlon's TE510 which held the Rosebank No1 Flattracker plate - this bike had a summer Michelin on the rear,very soft...and a winter Michelin on the front,very,very soft.This bike was well set up of course and could slide like it was born to do it,drifting both front and rear wheels in total confidance...it was the tyres that allowd it to do that.In 1976/79 I ran a competition trials tyre for gravel and street,also had a shot on Rosebank with it.This was before the days of motard,and I didn't know it,but that's what I was doing.I guess I was a pretty agressive rider as a young fulla,and I found if I pushed it really hard I could slide the rear tyre on seal with confidance,once out there it just seemed to stick even with the rear stepped out.But I ripped it up pretty quick,the blocks were flying off.I tried one of my old dirt track tyres over Xmas,and ripped the knobs off it...but not before I found it had good traction....