PDA

View Full Version : Oil Change

ZeroIndex
8th March 2006, 01:49
Sorry if this is already posted, but I did try a search and couldn't find anything meaningful.

I plan to do an oil change on my bike (or add some more oil), as I think it may be running a bit low... I've never done an oil change on a bike before, so please bear with me... It's a 4-stroke 4-valve single cylinder 170cc engine. As far as I'm aware, it uses 20W/40W oil, but I'm not completely sure... if anyone can give me advice on which brand and oil weight is good for this engine i would be grateful.

Thanks.

*Edit: Just wondering, would it be ok to top it up with 25W/40W oil in, or is that a bad idea?

Motu
8th March 2006, 06:50
I don't know where you've found 20/40 or 25/40 oils,they are not exactly common grades.You are better of with 10/30 or 15/40,seeing as you don't know much about oil you would be better off getting motorcycle specific oil,although it's expensive.Most car oils will do fine,but you need to be aware of friction modifiers and which oils have them.

Pwalo
8th March 2006, 07:09
Have you got a bike shop handy? Might pay to pop in and see if the mechanic can give you any advice.

Most of the bikes that I've owned have recommended 10w/40. Not sure about the Kinetic, but I don't think that it would be any different.

Oh and change your oil. Makes a huge difference.

ZeroIndex
8th March 2006, 08:35
Have you got a bike shop handy? Might pay to pop in and see if the mechanic can give you any advice.

Most of the bikes that I've owned have recommended 10w/40. Not sure about the Kinetic, but I don't think that it would be any different.

Oh and change your oil. Makes a huge difference.
I gather when changing oil, I need to change the oil filter as well? Ah, I'll ask Quasi for advice when I'm looking at his computer today...

Pwalo
8th March 2006, 10:02
Yes it's definitely a good idea to do the filter at the same time as the oil change.