PDA

View Full Version : Battery, Voltage and Jump Starting.

Devil
15th April 2004, 09:31
Hey people, looking for advice/opinions/knowledge on the following.
Am a biker newbie here. Just got the first bike a few days ago.

1) Bike Battery: Do bikes run on a standard 12V system? or are they something stupid like 6V? (silly little batteries!)

2) Following on from the above question. Jump starting from a car (assuming standard 12V setup). Any issues here? Do you guys have any recommendations?

3) Now a general question related to the above. What should be the proper procedure when jump starting from a car? What shoudl you connect first, then what order etc? Any tips? Ive done it a couple of times car -> car but not with a bike.

T.I.A.
:scooter:

Rocket
15th April 2004, 09:33
Just cause its not nzgames.com dont think yopu can be lazy.

http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/showthread.php?t=2401&highlight=jump+start

Devil
15th April 2004, 09:36
Just cause its not nzgames.com dont think yopu can be lazy.

http://www.kiwibiker.co.nz/forums/showthread.php?t=2401&highlight=jump+start
*cough*
Sorry ;) my bad :buggerd:

Devil
15th April 2004, 10:10
Gah, even in there people seem to have opposing ideas :/
Neg first on both, then positive on donor, then positive on dead vehicle?
:confused2

vifferman
15th April 2004, 10:14
The main things are: Make sure the bike and car aren't touching, and don't run the car engine when using jumper cables. Which cable you connect first isn't that relevant.

Grumpy
15th April 2004, 17:15
Having a nosey through a Kawasaki bike manual recently, one interesting thing I noticed was the jump start procedure.

It said to connect positive on jump battery to positive on bike then negative on jump battery to footpeg!

Never heard of this before. Not sure if this is a common practice for all bikes or for this particular model.

Wenier
15th April 2004, 17:36