PDA

View Full Version : Moderate skilled rider training.

petesmeats
10th April 2006, 11:59
Hi I am a 19yo student who got his full liscence and first larger bike over christmas. The more i ride the bike and the more i get comfortable with the bike and the more i read this forum, the more i find that there is so much more that i dont know. I am wondering whether there are courses or track days that would help me devolop my riding skill (in or around christchurch). I ask this as i am fairly keen to make it to 20.... and i also am wanting to be able to ride much faster in a safe way. I dont want to learn my lessons on the road and i am aware that roads are not a proving ground or a place to practice race riding/driving as so many people my age (in cages or on bikes) seem to think. Any (cheap) suggestions?

Two Smoker
10th April 2006, 12:04
Track days!!! You will learn alot by getting out there and having a go yourself, then when more is wanted and needed to learn, there is a wealth of knowledge on here from people that regularly go to the track and race...

Keep an eye out for the KB track days and others being held at Manfield :niceone:

R6_kid
10th April 2006, 12:05
you sound a bit like me, except i was a tad luckier with the age and type of bike i got.

Basically moderate yourself on the road. As for the track, get in touch with your local M/C racing club. Any time at a track day is beneficial, if you go in the medium pace group, find someone in the fast group whos style you like, and ask them to watch you for a few laps, and give you feedback when you come in after each session. They'll be chuffed as that you think they are the shiz, and will more than likely oblige to help you out.

It worked well for me when i went to Manfield, at the start of the day i wasn't getting to the edge of my tyres, and the end the edges were burning up and i was even get the rear out exiting some corners.

limbimtimwim
10th April 2006, 12:17
I 3rd the track day idea.