PDA

View Full Version : Fork Seals

Acid
20th April 2006, 10:32
heyas i have a gsx250 and was wondering how much it would cost to do front fork seals and where would be the best place to go???
also if there any1 who could help to replace them without going to a shop ??
im just keeping my options open
thanks

bugjuice
20th April 2006, 11:18
i hate anything to do with the insides of forks, cos I've never played with them, and don't understand that area yet. But whenever it's needed, I always whip them off the bike and take them to Spectrum, and it'll cost a little over a hundy I think..

Jonty
20th April 2006, 12:49
Best take it to a shop. What it will cost will depend on what needs done. If the forks are pitted you will NEED to get these fixed otherwise you will be back doin the same thing in a months time. If the forks are fine it should be under $200.

Nolan
20th April 2006, 13:18
Hey mate

Im not an expert but another KB'er helped me do mine:yes:
If it is pitted (ie little spots of rust where the oil seal would travel over) then you need rechroming.

You sound like me in the way that taking it to a shop is more money than i can afford.

I think the best way would be for you to borrow a torque wrench (for reassembly:sweatdrop), and atleast take the front forks off, then take them to a shop or carry on yourself.
It isn't that hard you just need someone to help you and you need quite a few tools(which i dont have)

Do you have an owners manual, with disassembly diagrams and torque settings?

Im sure someone here will atleast let you borrow some tools, or even help you do it.
Id be keen to help but only if someone more experianced(sp) was actually doing most of it, after watching how its done twice id beable to do it whenever.

Oh if you had the forks off im sure it would only take a mechanic under an hour to do it:scratch: ? ie $70? Edit, oops 70 + whatever the seals and oil cost, which id buy before hand. I used motul 10W but check your manual.

WINJA