PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, help with buying my first bike

aall034
20th April 2006, 12:42
hello everyone,

how do i start ...., i am new to the country and dont know how to ride a bike (but know how to drive a geared scooter, if its helpful).

i am planning to buy a bike by the months end , after getting my learners licence , what do you reckon is good for starters

wanted to buy a honda vtr250 , but then changed to hyosung gtr250r.

and also for your learners u need to pass a basic handling skills test, am planning to take a basic handling course fron riderskills.co.nz

please post your opinions guys , would be greatly helpful for newbie idots like me.

:rockon:

aall034
20th April 2006, 12:44
and also could you suggest me good dealers around auckland

Jonty
20th April 2006, 12:46
You will be fine on both of those bikes. There is also the GN250 to consider. Have a search around these forums as there are plenty of threads on the subject.

If you don't know how to ride a bike make sure you take the introductory course before basic handling. I am sure rideskills offer this. It will give you the basics for using the clutch etc.

Good luck

limbimtimwim
20th April 2006, 12:58
wanted to buy a honda vtr250 , but then changed hyosung gtr250r.I owned a (1998) VTR250, and rode a Hyobag 250 Comet thingy (The 'naked' one) for a day and it was obvious what bike was vastly superior; the Honda.

The Hyobag vibrated, was totally gutless and had crap/scary handling. Strong brakes though, but with no feel.

The VTR is an all round better bike, it'd wipe the floor with a Hyobag and depreciate less too.

Aaron
20th April 2006, 13:01
While in at the AA last week I recall hearing one of the counter staff say that the basic skills handling certificate was required in order to book for the learners test.

Cannot remember what I did, but that sort of makes sense. They know then, before issuing your learners that you've at least done the basic skills course.

aall034