PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question: Removing Yamaha FZX250 seat?

Fangio
23rd April 2006, 13:42
I have recently purchased a 92 Yamaha FZX250 Zeal (excellent fun) and would like to remove the seat to get it reupholstered as it is looking pretty tatty at the moment.

As I am quite new to the world of motorcycles I do not know how to remove the seat and fear that I may do more damage than good if I try without actually knowing how. Owners manuals & workshop manuals are pretty difficult to find, and my searches so far have been unsuccesful. Aside from finding an FZR400 manual which is kind of good for motor info, but that doesn't help me with the body work.

If possible I would greatly appreciate if any FZX250 owner or former owner would be able to give me any tips or advice on how to remove the seat.

As this is my first post in this forum I hope that I have posted in the correct sub-forum, if not please direct me to a more appropriate section.

Thanks in advance.

Sniper
23rd April 2006, 13:59
Welcome

Never owned one, but I believe they are nice bikes. If there are no obvious bolts, I would say it might have a key unlock thingie somewhere they you insert and turn (duh) your key and the seat should pop off

MidnightMike
23rd April 2006, 14:05
Welcome

Never owned one, but I believe they are nice bikes. If there are no obvious bolts, I would say it might have a key unlock thingie somewhere they you insert and turn (duh) your key and the seat should pop off

Should do, just dont go forcing it off to find they key bit afterwards :doh:

Welcome to KB aswell. :ride:

Fangio
23rd April 2006, 14:49
Thanks guys, I am pretty sure that the front seat is bolted on, but I could be mistaken. I am yet to find any bolts or fasteners for the pillion seat and believe that it is held on with clips or some other non-screw type mechanism.

I think unclipping of the rear seat will allow access to the screw(s) for the front seat.

Still not quite sure how to proceed.