PDA

View Full Version : What to do about tailgaters?

beanz
6th May 2004, 17:09
Right, this should be an interesting topic, once it gets going...

I'm still a nooB to this whole motorbiking thing, so am trying to get as much road-time in as possible. And as well as all the exillerating things, like leaning over in the wet, and pulling out into fast moving traffic, I'm finding that more and more cagers are following much to close! One guy today was about a metre behind me!!

Normally, in my split personality as a driver, I'd do one of two things. 1) Drop a couple of gears, and listen to the whistle of the turbo as I leave the dumbass in a dust cloud, or 2) Jam on the brakes, and drive really painfully slow until a double lane bit comes up, then goto #1.

So what to do on my RG150, on a learner licence, with no L-plate? Option 2 isn't really the safest plan of attack. And my Suzy can't really accelerate in a way that would impress both me and the bastard behind me.

So what to do???!

I guess I could bring in option #3, to just ignore it, but that somehow goes against my religion. I guess I could lift my ass, and pull a browneye... :shake: Or pull the fingers (or fist, in classic NZ Harley-Styles).

Would be keen to hear from other riders, who find satisfying solutions to this type of situation. :ar15:

James Deuce
6th May 2004, 17:14
Pull over and let them go. They'll kill you if they don't stop in time if they need to.

White trash
6th May 2004, 17:14
Stop slowly right in the center of the road so they can't go around. Climb of the bike and they'll either reverse away REAL quick or sit and watch you kick the living shit outa their headlights.

Really constructive but it might give them the message :bash:

Deano
6th May 2004, 17:18
Sometimes turning to look at the driver (safely of course) is all that is required for them to get the message.