PDA

View Full Version : Question about helmets post-crash

Karlyg
14th May 2006, 21:02
Hi all.

I came off my scooter the other day, and landed on my head, bouncing on it a couple of times. I am fine, barring some fabulous bruises and a massive headache the next few days, but what I wanted to know was how can you tell when your helmet is a write-off? It looks okay - it only has a few scratches, really - but I landed pretty hard on it. I read in the manual that came with it that one should replace the helmet after any hard knock, whether the damage is obvious or not, but are they just saying that to sell more helmets? As you may have guessed, I am a newbie rider, and thus ultra-paranoid... I would really like to keep my brain. :)

Thanks for any advice. :scooter:

James Deuce
14th May 2006, 21:09
As the risk of getting worked over by the people who use their helmet as a sidestand, I'd say that if you have a headache, then you've compressed the lining of the helmet enough to warrant replacement. Contrary to popular opinion, you do not need to buy the most expensive helmet on the market to get the best protection, merely one that fits very well.

I'd replace it, but I'm paranoid too.

trumpy
14th May 2006, 21:10
I have spent a good portion of my professional life working with people with severe head injuries....take my advice, despite all our our best efforts, brains generally don't mend. Change the helmet.

bobsmith
14th May 2006, 21:51
Ummmm I don't pretend to be a doctor, but knowing several friends (yes, my friends are unluckly... or maybe I am....) who have suffered concussion, I would suggest that if you still have a headache from an impact after a few days, you should see a doctor???

Oh and if you have a headache, I would guess that your helmet is a write off. But than again, I'm paranoid like everyone else... I think the fact that we want to keep our brains intact is a good enough excuse to be paranoid though....

trumpy
14th May 2006, 21:58