PDA

View Full Version : Another "riding without gear" thread.....

cowboyz
17th May 2006, 06:57
After 2 freak accidents in 17 years I am a big fan of riding with gear.

Now that is out the way the point of this thread.

Yesterday I left my riding jacket in the car and the little woman goes to work before me and left with it still in the car. So I had to ride to work without it. Now I put on 3 jerseys cause I thought it might be cold. I was still freezing my arse off by the time I got into Palmerston. How can people ride without gear and still be comfortable? I can only imagine the uncomfort/freezing your balls off when riding with no helmet. Even open face helmets must pose the same problem?

thehollowmen
17th May 2006, 07:37
you need something windproof, with few holes

try gortex and or raincoats, or the PVC from your goth years...

Motu
17th May 2006, 07:50
When I started riding I just wore a light nylon jacket,no gloves and no helmet....it was colder back then too,as our suburb was surrounded by farm land and open areas.I remember my ears would burn as I warmed up...an open face was ok,cold is cold,wet is wet.

I used to work with an ex blocky,and was once complaining about cold hands - he said as an apprentice his boss used to make him beak the ice on top of a 44gal drum and plunge his hands in - they would be burning hot all day.

beyond
17th May 2006, 08:32
Yep, the old days aye. :)

Could only afford one of those Line 7 PVC jackets which was wind and waterproof, no liner, just plastic. Use to freeze going into work in heavy frosts with just jeans on as well. Gloves were pretty primitive back then as well. You would arrive at work after a 35km commute, your hands were dead. They would be plain white and you could whack them on something hard and not feel a thing. (Till later )