PDA

View Full Version : New paint job

Ms Piggy
12th May 2004, 18:50
I have been seriously thinking about redoing the paint job on the bitchin' mobile. As much as I love the originality of the paint job there are a few of reasons for changing it:
1/ Before I bought it off my flatmate it got stolen & scratched a little.
2/ It seems to be getting a few more chips of paint coming off.
3/ I'm a social work student & it's a little dodgey having a bike that says "Bitchin' Mobile", "Killa Pussy", "Lik Me" on it.

My flatmate originally did it with cans & that worked ok but I'm just wondering how many coats of laquer to apply and how far back do I sand it...and wot sort of sand paper do I use?

Also is it really a better idea to wait until summer when it's warmer?

wkid_one
12th May 2004, 19:20
First Cut for you without the Names on it as requested

Motoracer
12th May 2004, 19:28
3/ I'm a social work student & it's a little dodgey having a bike that says "Bitchin' Mobile", "Killa Pussy", "Lik Me" on it.?

Firstly :lol:!!!

My flatmate originally did it with cans & that worked ok but I'm just wondering how many coats of laquer to apply and how far back do I sand it...and wot sort of sand paper do I use?

Also is it really a better idea to wait until summer when it's warmer?

Heres what I'd do.

1) Take apart the bits to be painted away from the bike.
2) Take off all the stickers etc.
4) Pick an easy part like your front mud guard to start the work on.
3) Sand it down with a 150 grit sand paper. Some people use paint thiners to remove the old amature paint job but due to different chemical reactions, I'd stay away from them. Since you don't know the quality of the paint that your mate used, its a good idea to get rid of all of it. If you leave some patches of the old paint, it can still react with the new paint later on and kill your whole job. :cry: