PDA

View Full Version : A funny noise...

Ms Piggy
23rd May 2004, 16:07
...has been happening when I go on any lengthy rides. It happened last time I went over the Rimutakas and today when Tigger & I were coming back from Otaki. I am new to riding so excuse me while I sound really stoopid :o

It kind of sounds like the noise my VW beetle car was making just before the bearings disintergrated - I mean I'm guessing bikes have bearings in them :o and that I'm referring to the right bit (more :o :o ) the sound comes from the front wheel but it only happens when I'm on long journies.

As you can see I am not the least bit mechanically minded. I guess I could just take it into the bike shop but $$$$ So hence why I am asking my lovely mates on KB's.

Big Dog
23rd May 2004, 16:31
Put it up on the centre stand.
Have someone lean on the back end (to raise the front of the ground).
Grab the wheel on two opposite sides.
Wiggle.
If you can move without moving the forks or you get a crunching noise your bearing is f&*ked.

If not Spin the wheel.
Does it turn freely or is it jerky?
Jerky in the same spot might indicate brake poroblems.
Jerky in general would indicate bearings being worn.

If not take your front axle out and check for grooves or cracks. If it has cracks or grooves in it replace and replace the bearings.

Wile you have the axle out look and see if the bearings look right (they should be evenly spaced, all the same shape and packed in axle grease.)

Lube the axle with axle lube and put back.

If it is still making noises or it only ever made them when accelerating or braking try degreasing, lubing and adjusting your chain as when it gets stiff and worn it will "bash" against your swingarm when really cold or really warm.

If you spot the problem you could save some money for the cost of a tube of lube, if not take it to the bike shop.

Ms Piggy
23rd May 2004, 16:39
Thanks Big Dog I'll check this out ASAP!

Posh Tourer :P
23rd May 2004, 18:50