PDA

View Full Version : Tech question

menace
23rd May 2004, 22:38
Ok i know this is probably a stupid question or whatever... BUT as im brand new to biking im just curious about somthing...

Do most motobikes run carbs or have I missread something?

If they do i dont get why? :blink: It seems pretty old technology and i dont know too many car tuners that still fiddle withcarbs, its mostly electronic injection and such. This makes it easier to map and even have a few diferent maps for different conditions/needs/wants. Its just plug and play...

Anyway im just curious... And probably wrong... <_<

pete376403
23rd May 2004, 22:46
More and more bikes are running injection, but usually rhe bigger, more expensive ones.
Carbs, although old technology, are pretty refined and they do work well. Factories build bike to sell and they don't really care too much about people who want to change them from stock, ie mess around with fuel maps and so on.
Consider also the economies of scale - cars sell by the 100's of thousands, if not millions. Also they sell for a lot more than bikes, so 1, they amortise the cost of developing expensive electronics over a lot more units and 2, as a percentage of the total cost of the vehicle, the injection cost is a smaller part.
FWIW, the first mass marketed injection system on a bike (GpZ1100) was based on a Nissan (Bluebird IIRC) system. U+It was pretty crude and tended to fry its electronics. The preferred fix was to replace it with carbs.

Motu
23rd May 2004, 23:05